Rendre l'oreille

Exhibition catalog

2017

Exhibition publication - Syndicat Potentiel

Catalog published within the exhibition Rendre l'oreille at the Syndicat Potentiel in Strasbourg. It was builded as much as an exchange as a partnership, to generate an "around" of the exhibition. An object where are gathered texts and essays from the artists, or from authors linked with the exhibition, and annex artworks, unexposed, but being intimately linked to it.
It isn't an archive of the exhibition.

Exhibition form 3 to 17.06.2017 at the Syndicat Potentiel in Strasbourg.
Premiere : Friday 02.06.2017 - 18h00

With : Vincent Chevillon, Camille Dagen, Jérémy Damian, Raymond Devos, Lucie Fer, Monsieur Fraize, Jean Genet, Christiane Geoffroy, Ross Heselton, Anouk Moyaux, Franco Piavoli, framework radio, Léonie Risjeterre, Penny Siopis, Frank Smith, John Varley, Françoise Vergès, Iwan Warnet, Melek Zertal

Curating : Simon Marini

22 pages - 205 x 290 mm.
Catalog produced on paper made by Lana Paper and printed at the Haute École des Arts du Rhin.

  • Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

    Photographs of the catalog.

  • Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

    Photograph of the exhibition.

  • Rendre l'oreille is an exhibition which was builded in multiple times. As a moving space, as much in the presented artworks that in their disposal, their interactions, and their particular schedule. Creating situations and meetings, the exhibition postulate a time of listening, of weakest voices, of more minimalistic postulates, understreamed, minoritarian.

    A space, if not of mutism but of attention, to what's happening under the threshold of usual presences, to speeches unstrongly declaimed, or to what isn't declared but listened. Return our ear back to whom is speaking too loud, to offer it to whom is maybe not enough asking for it.

    The catalog is thus a space which is reporting, once again, of what could happen around, of texts and dialogs peripherical to its initial postulate, increasing and opening the exhibition to external places, to which it permit it to venture. Integral part, unhanged or non hangable artworks receptacle, it pursue the agenced reflections and aim to organized and to realize the multiples of the exhibition postulate.

    Inside the texts and essays it contains, are inserted light geometrical forms coming perturbate the ordonated reading. They are clues of the agencing and editing work on the catalog, as un-usual spaces, games and transformations of the text. They allow to its reading a time of retreat, of ereasure as for the sequences of reading and habits.

    Porpounding us to take additional time to read or reread the texts, to try to significate or to contextualize them.

    Although their meaning aren't explicated inside the catalog, these forms are free interpretations of sign words, belonging to a close-up corpus of the exhibition postulate. They are representing the dialog, the exchange, the listening, the speech, and so on, and are use in their gestuality : of non-auditory communication, where the ear is not in use, or render.

    « On " the bright sight of the English Channel ", their is a rumor that it's necessary to give voice to minorities. Let's dramatize and understand here the non-masculin, non-white and non-human minorities. This equivocal goodwill usually exhales from those who have this speech. Let us now reconsider our soil and maintain that speeches are enunciated everywhere, that muted elopements tamper before our eyes, with or without words, and that it is important to grant them the attention they require.

    The exhibition Rendre l'oreille is purposing in this context an agencement which plans to tickle our ways of paying attention. »

    Introduction text — Simon Marini, curator of the exhibition.

Rendre l'oreille

Catalogue d'exposition

2017

Périphérie d'exposition - Syndicat Potentiel

Catalogue publié dans le cadre de l'exposition Rendre l'oreille au Syndicat Potentiel à Strasbourg. Il s'est construit autant en échange qu'en partenariat, pour générer un " autour " de l'exposition. Un objet où serait rassemblés des textes et essais des artistes, ou d'auteurs en lien avec l'exposition ainsi que des œuvres annexes, non exposées, mais lui étant intimement liées. Cependant, il n'est pas une archive de l'exposition.

Exposition du 3 au 17.06.2017 au Syndicat Potentiel à Strasbourg.
Vernissage : vendredi 02.06.2017 - 18h00

Exposition avec : Vincent Chevillon, Camille Dagen, Jérémy Damian, Raymond Devos, Lucie Fer, Monsieur Fraize, Jean Genet, Christiane Geoffroy, Ross Heselton, Anouk Moyaux, Franco Piavoli, framework radio, Léonie Risjeterre, Penny Siopis, Frank Smith, John Varley, Françoise Vergès, Iwan Warnet, Melek Zertal

Commissariat : Simon Marini

22 pages - 205 x 290 mm.
Catalogue réalisé sur papier Lana et imprimé à la Haute École des Arts du Rhin.

  • Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

    Photographie du catalogue.

  • Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

    Photographie de l'exposition.

  • Rendre l'oreille est une exposition qui s'est construite en plusieurs temps. Comme un espace mouvant, autant dans les œuvres présentées que dans leur dispositions, leurs interactions et dans le déroulé d'événements s'y rattachant. Création de situations et de rencontres, l'exposition postule un temps d'écoute, de voix moins fortes que les autres, de postulats plus minimaux, sous-tendus, minoritaires.

    Un espace, sinon de mutisme mais d'attention, à ce qui passe sous le seuil de présence habituel, de discours non fortement déclamés ou à ce qui ne s'énonce pas mais s'entend. Rendre l'oreille à ceux qui parle trop fort pour la donner à ceux qui ne la demande peut-être que trop peu.

    Le catalogue est alors un espace qui rend, encore une fois, compte de ce qui peut se passer autour, de textes et dialogues périphériques à ce postulat initial, augmentant et ouvrant l'exposition à des lieux externe, auxquels il lui permet de s'aventurer. Partie intégrante, réceptacle d'œuvres non accrochées ou non accrochables, il poursuit les réflexions agencée et tant à organiser comme à réaliser des multiples de ce postulat.

    
Au sein des textes et essais qu'il contient, s'incrustent de légères formes géométriques venant perturber la lecture ordonnée. Ils sont indices du travail d'agencement et d'édition du catalogue, ainsi qu'espaces non usuels, de jeux et de transformations du texte. Ils autorisent à sa lecture un temps de recul, d'effacement quant aux enchaînements de regards et habitudes.

    Proposant alors de prendre un temps supplémentaire pour lire ou relire les textes, tenter de les signifier ou de les contextualiser.

    Bien que leur sens soit non explicité au sein du catalogue, ces formes sont des interprétations libres de mots signés, appartenant à un corpus proche du postulat de l'exposition. Ils représentent le dialogue, l'échange, l'écoute, la parole, et ainsi de suite, dans leurs gestuelles de communication non auditive, où l'oreille n'est pas d'usage, voir rendue.

    J'ai également réalisée les photos de l'exposition, qui sont présentée ici en tant que contexte du catalogue.

    « Du " bon côté du manche ", le bruit court qu’il faut rendre la parole aux minorités. Dramatisons et entendons ici les communautés non-masculines, non-hétéros, non-blanches et non-humaines. Cette bienveillance équivoque s’exhale d’ordinaire de ceux qui ont cette parole. Reconsidérons dès à présent notre sol et soutenons que des discours s’énoncent partout, que des éloquences muettes trafiquent sous nos yeux, avec ou sans mots, et qu’il importe de leur accorder l’attention qu’elles requièrent.

    L’exposition Rendre l’oreille propose dans ce contexte un agencement qui envisage de titiller nos manières de prêter attention. »

    Texte d'introductionSimon Marini, Commissaire de l'exposition.